“The Loungie”

For a day or two, I thought maybe I’d fallen asleep and dreamed this commercial. Something so stupid couldn’t possibly exist, and the fact that my wife could find neither a single mention of it on Google nor a single screen grab or video of it on Youtube over the weekend seemed to confirm the dream hypothesis.

But now, unfortunately, comes proof that I’m not insane. Someone else saw a commercial for “The Loungie.” I’m not the only one, and knowing for sure it exists makes me shudder.

A brief background: It was around 2:30 in the afternoon on Saturday, and I was watching something about shipyards on History International (Yes, I was watching History International on a Saturday afternoon. There was a blizzard going on outside. DON’T JUDGE ME!!!!).

There was a commercial break, and this spot came on for a tote bag that unfolds into a blanket that can be tied down to a beach lawn chair, as though some meth addict in a manic phase got hold of a Snuggie and decided he could improve it. It was called “The Loungie.” The ad’s intro veered dangerously close to the brilliant iCarly parody commercial of the Snuggie (a.k.a. “The Sack”), as it began by asking how often you’ve tried to put a beach towel down over a lawn chair only to have it fly off in the wind.

The commercial only grew more ridiculous from there. It hawked the Loungie’s thick, luxurious fabric of some sort, as well as the super secret compartment for storing your valuables which anyone who sees the commercial will know about. Then came the coup de grace: the optional versions of the Loungie with chessboards and backgammon tables printed on them.

I swear I am not making any of this up.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to ““The Loungie””

  1. Anonymous Says:

    OMG I have been Googling this too and no luck finding it, as stupid as I thought the commercial was I realized I could use one. If you find anything about it, PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I would really appreciate it. I recall the cheesiness of the commercial and that it was “2 EASY Payments of $10” I just saw this commercial recently too, on April 21, 2010. Hope to hear back from you.

  2. MEMO Says:

    Omg i just seen that same dumb ass commercial…. i thought i would be the only person to feel that way….. lmao… hilarious

  3. Jennifer Says:

    OMG – I just now saw the commercial, and it is so me! That’s how I set up every time, and it takes forever! Now that winter is gone, Snuggie what? I need a Loungie! If anyone knows a website, let me know. I have a 1-800 number, but real people want to sell you all this other garbage!

  4. mary Says:

    I saw it also. Find a web site let me know. I need one.

  5. Janelle!!! Says:

    Omg hahah i just googled it cuz im going to the beach today and have like a million little things with me and i honestly think it would be a great investment! if anyone knows where i can get one id really aprreciate it!! Thanks!!

  6. Snead Says:

  7. Donna Says:

    Check out the Sunchaiser at sunchaiser.com

  8. An Update on “The Loungie” « A Tale Told by an Idiot Says:

    […] of serious investigative journalism for which this site is held in wide esteem in my mind alone, I reported the existence of what may perhaps be the stupidest television commercial ever created: “The […]

Leave a Reply

