It’s the End of the World as We Know It

I’m still trying to wrap my mind around this without my head exploding as a result.

Back-to-Back NL Champions. The universe has lost its marbles.

Back-to-Back NL Champions. The universe has lost its marbles.

The Philadelphia Phillies won the National League title a grand total of five times in 125 seasons from 1883 to 2007. In fact, they only did it twice in 97 seasons from 1883 to 1979. They have lost more games than any other professional sports team in American history. Rooting for the Phillies, I grew up accustomed to long stretches of futility occasionally punctuated one randomly good year and quickly followed by more futility.

The other night, they won the National League title for the second year in a row, making the Phillies only the eighth team to win back-to-back NL pennants since the beginning of the 20th century. I keep having to pinch myself to make sure I’m not dreaming, and then I have to push against my ears to keep my brain from oozing out of my head if I think about it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “It’s the End of the World as We Know It”

  1. Torrey Says:

    Dude… move to Chicago and kiss my ass daily. In fact, hourly. If you think you know suffering, please locate the nearest frying pan, hand it to your wife, and let her beat you over the head with it until you forgot which team you are rooting for.

    • ianheath653 Says:

      See, this is why you need to start following soccer. The Chicago Fire actually win stuff on a fairly regular basis. Plus, the White Sox won the World Series a few years ago. And the Bulls won all those NBA titles during the ’90s. Plus, the Bears have actually won a Super Bowl, so there you go.

      • Torrey Says:

        I cannot, will not, and never did enjoy watching a 90+ minute game filled with almost 5 minutes of action. And to clarify, nobody cares about the White Sox, you are correct about the Bulls, and the Bears are a real stretch when you are going back 25 years.

      • ianheath653 Says:

        The Bears aren’t a stretch. The Eagles’ last NFL title, by comparison, predates the Super Bowl’s existence by nearly a decade. And wouldn’t your in-laws disagree with you about nobody caring about the White Sox?

Leave a Reply

