I Give Up

I give up. I caved. Finally. I held out as long as I could, but I could hold out no more.

I opened a Facebook account. Or, more accurately, my wife started opening a Facebook account for me last night, and I decided to go along with it.

I’ve always been very ambivalent about the whole “social networking” thing. There are probably a few reasons why:

  1. I used to do public relations work for a college.
  2. College students tend to put incredibly stupid things, especially stupid things in photographic form, on social networking sites.
  3. Some of those stupid things are publicly viewable and can end up making the whole college look bad, which results in the college’s PR people having to scramble to put out the resulting fires.
  4. It’s especially fun when reason number three occurs while you’re away on vacation.

So, I spent several years resisting joining Facebook. I’m sort of amazed that I held out all the way to the middle of 2009, to be honest. I pretty much knew that I would have to give in earlier this spring when I received a class letter in the mail from my collegiate alma mater directing people to the tenth-year reunion (yes, I am that old) Facebook group for more information.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

