Bean Equivalents: Dry, Canned and Cooked

Because I lead such an utterly fascinating life staying at home taking care of two kids, I spend lots of time deciphering the most pressing dilemmas facing all humanity. Here are the vital fruits of my intense research:

1 15-oz can of beans = 1 1/2 cups of cooked beans, drained

(Shocking, right? It gets more thrilling below, just you wait.)

1 pound of dry beans = 2 cups of dry beans

(Also,)

1 pound of dry beans = 6 cups of cooked beans, drained

(Therefore,)

1 cup of dry beans = 3 cups of cooked beans, drained

(Also therefore,)

1/2 cup of dry beans = 1 15-oz can of beans!!!

(Aren’t you a better person now that you know that?)


Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Bean Equivalents: Dry, Canned and Cooked”

  1. Mike Says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. John Says:

    Google led me here. I’ve been using a 2-can recipe on 1 lb of dry beans. Since 2 cans = 3 cups cooked and 1 lb = 6 cups, it appears I should have been doubling the onions and spices.

    This new knowledge causes me some distress. I was more or less happy and now I’m wondering if I have once again settled for too little in life. I resolve to try it with the additional spices. BTW here is the recipe, as corrected.

    In a slow cooker, soak 1 lb dry beans in 5 1/2 cups water for a while and then cook until nearly done. Add 1 cup chopped onion, 2 T maple syrup, 2 T Dijon mustard, 2 1/2 T canned chipotle chiles in adobo finely chopped, 1 cup ketchup, 1/4 t ground cinnamon, salt & pepper to taste. Cook until done.

  3. Amy Says:

    Thank you so much–this is EXACTLY what I needed to know for a recipe. You’ve advanced the cause of human knowledge!😉

Leave a Reply

