Stuff from the Internets

I don’t know why the remote possibility of Belgium breaking up simultaneously amuses and saddens me, but it does.

In the meantime, could someone please explain to me why on Earth this site is so popular? I love cats as much as the next person, and we have too darn many as it is, but I just don’t get the allure of I Can Has Cheezburger? at all. For some twisted reason, that doesn’t stop me from looking at it. Repeatedly. It’s like seeing a car accident, and try as you might, you can’t turn your head away.

While chuckling at the creative description of this mishap, I couldn’t help but feel like I was reading a cautionary tale, and that it could be me doing something like that with our kid in a few years.

As John Lennon once sang, imagine there’s no B.O.

Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum. That’s all I can say. One of the many reasons I love the Fall.

And here’s where I reveal my inner geek:

For anybody of the Microsoft-avoiding persuasion, OpenOffice.org just released a new version upgrade to 2.3. There are a lot of changes listed in very technical terms that I don’t understand one bit, but it does look like it’s going to be easier to use extensions from here on out. However, if you have a Mac like I do, you’re stuck with version 2.2.1 for the time being, since the new X11 port isn’t ready yet. During the last major upgrade, there was a lag of a few days until the Macintosh X11 version came out, and I believe the German edition of it was released a day or two before the English one. Mozilla also released a security update for Firefox to version 2.0.0.7 the other day, so it’s probably a good idea to stay on top of that if you use it.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

