We Have Liftoff

It’s new! It’s old-fashioned! It washes your dishes, presses your pants, and makes extravagantly untrue claims about what it can do! It’s my brand-spanking new blog on WordPress. In fact, you’re reading it right now.

I should probably explain why I’ve started this thing. My wife and I are expecting our first baby in about a month, at which time I will become that rare bird known as a stay-at-home dad. For the last eight years, I’ve worked in a creatively-oriented job that has required me to write a lot. I’ve often dashed off multiple press releases, event program entries, magazine and newsletter stories, and other things every day with the shimmering deadline guillotine looming overhead.

Fearing that if I no longer stay in practice my writing will atrophy over time spent primarily sopping infant secretions, I’ve created this site as a way to keep me writing something — anything — every day. I’m figuring there’s no more effective way to force me to keep up with this than to publicly state my intention to write something every day, and then have to face the prospect of public shaming if I don’t follow through with it.

The blog entries that you see prior to this one were all taken from my incredibly lame MySpace page. I don’t know how much future entries on this site will resemble those. So far, I’ve tended to just jot down whatever happens to strike my fancy at the given moment. Whether or not that will continue, I can’t say. Right now, the point of this thing is that it doesn’t have to have a point to have a point. Instead, the process of consistently filling up blank space with words that should somehow resemble coherent thoughts is the focus of this thing.

And so this site starts, not with a bang, nor a whimper… More like the sound of a whoopee cushion.

One Response to “We Have Liftoff”

  1. Abubaker Says:

    Really?Uh…it’s my O.C’s last name.Which, um, is Alexandre Requiem.I called him that buasece it means (if you don’t already know) a song composed in mourning for the dead.And Alexandre means defender.So, Death Defender.Necromancer.You see?

Leave a Reply

