Herb and Clem, the Vanguard of the Proletariat

Since I began my first attempt to start running again last March (that lasted until July, when an injury caught up with me as a result of my being stupid; the second attempt began in October and is still going), I’ve had encounters with all sorts of animals out on the roads. They’ve included the predictable (groundhogs, squirrells, blah, blah, blah), the ones you’d only find in a rural area like where I live (free-range roosters), the potentially scary (dogs running loose), to yesterday’s most bizarre meeting yet: a couple of sheep. Not behind a fence in a field alongside the road, mind you, but standing about in the middle of the road. Weirder yet, they had this vague look of concentration on their faces, like they were advance scouts out surveying for a herd plotting to expand its territory by force or something. For some reason, I decided to name them “Herb and Clem, The Vanguard of the Proletariat,” and then went around them.

Okay, so maybe this story didn’t turn out to be quite as amusing as I thought it was at the time. I guess you had to be there…

Leave a Reply

