Do You See What Happens, Larry, When You Don’t Make Free Throws?

I was idly flipping through channels on the TV tonight looking for something to distract me from the #&@%! Cardinals’ win over the Phillies earlier tonight and eventually settled on Game 2 of the WNBA Finals (truth be told, I do occasionally watch a stray WNBA game here and there on TV – and I’d highly recommend doing so to anyone who’s a grumpy-old-fart-basketball-purist).

The game turned out to be very entertaining, in large part because of the Atlanta Dream’s total collapse in the second half that allowed the host Minnesota Lynx to mount an improbable comeback and ultimately win the game to take a 2-0 lead in the best-of-five series. It’ll be interesting to see what happens in the next game in Atlanta Friday, as tonight’s game potentially has the makings of one of those especially soul-crushing losses leading to total capitulation in a playoff series.

What made that 101-95 outcome even worse for Atlanta was the fact that the Dream missed more than a third of their free throw attempts in a game with a six-point margin, while Minnesota shot almost 83% from the free throw line.

That is pretty much the stupidest possible way to lose a game; if there’s one thing I’ve never been able to stand in basketball, it’s seeing otherwise good teams be really bad at making foul shots and hemorrhaging what should be easy points that are handed to them. Foul shooting is a problem that’s apparently dogged the Dream all year, and now it’s come home to roost in the finals. As it darn well should.

John Goodman smashing a car with a crowbar in "The Big Lebowski."

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS, ATLANTA! THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU DON'T MAKE FREE THROWS!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Do You See What Happens, Larry, When You Don’t Make Free Throws?”

  1. joegilbert8251 Says:

    Love the Big Lebowski reference!

    • Camille Says:

      I have finally found a setsym that works for me. I have two files set up on my desk top computer and an external hard drive and they are labeled Family Photos and db Images. When I download my photos they all go onto the desk top computer first and sorted into the appropriate file (Family or Professional). I go through the desk top files and purge the ones that are hopeless (right after downloading them). Once this is done I send the files to my external hard drive.From this step I go on to the next step .I have two very powerful flash drives one for the Family Photos and One for db Images I copy the external files to each appropriate flash drive. I store the Family Photo (these are categorized by Year/Event/Date) flash drive for future use such as developing and putting in an album but the db Images flash drive I process on my lap top. I do a second purge on the db images flash drive only the ones I plan on selling/blogging/manipulating etc. go on this drive the best of the best if you will. Then I send them to their appropriate categories Animals/Flowers and Plants/Insects/Boats/Birds etc. that way when I want a particular photo I know where it is easy access and I have three locations where photos are saved (I eventually delete the ones on the desk top after transferring them to a CD just because I am anal like that). And nothing is saved on my laptop. I work with my family history and I have a huge amount of photos dating back decades so I have had to find a manageable setsym For me, it is all about easy access. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

